Tough tackling Raff puts his foot in where it hurts

As I was waiting on the Leith Athletic team bus to take us across Middle Earth and into the dark reaches of Glasgow on Saturday a forcible kick from behind me landed square on my posterior.

As anyone who is well-schooled in the art of football dressing room antics will know, such schoolboy actions are commonplace and therefore, on turning round I was already preparing myself for swift and painful retribution on the offending party.

However, rather than see the grinning face of one of my childish team-mates, I was instead greeted with that of former Daily Record and Scotsman crime reporting guru and now successful PR man Stephen Rafferty.

Raff is an old mentor of mine and he, along with other Scottish media stalwart Scott Douglas, stand guilty of launching my media career when they gave me a job at Deadline Press & Picture agency many moons ago. At the time I was suffering from post-university blues, working part-time at a British Gas call centre and being rejected from junior reporter roles at every local country bumpkin newspaper imagineable.

So it is always an enjoyable occasion bumping into Raff – either by chance or on the media social circuit.

This chance encounter, I am delighted to be able to report, is because Raff’s eldest, Liam, has firmly nailed his colours to the wall and signed for Leith Athletic’s under-17 side.

With his old man being a staunch Hibby, there was never any real chance that the Young Raff would be turning out for a team on the wrong-side of the city but it is always good to see young talent join the Leith ranks. The club has a fantastic youth set up catering from kids at five-years-old right up to the (even bigger kids) in the full amateur side so there’s no doubt young Liam has made a good choice.

I’m told he is a tough-tackling, no nonsense centre half who strikes fear into the hearts of opposition strikers. I can’t say that I’m surprised – his dad built his reputation on going in where it hurts, tackling Scotland’s criminal fraternity and digging up hard-hitting exclusives. And, as these pictures on Scott Douglas’ blog show, Raff wasn’t averse to sticking his feet in to get things done either.

However, next time Raff, I’ll settle for a tap on the shoulder rather than a boot up the jacksie!

2 Responses

  1. ” A forcible kick”? Ya nancy boy, if you think that was hard wait until ma boy gets you in a tackle. I do stand partlyguilty of launching your journalism career. And if you were still working for me, you would get another boot up the arse – Liam is my youngest! Good to see you as always Dave. Hope your team won – the under 17s are through to the Scottish Cup semis – Hampden (Excelsior Stadium, Airdire to be accurate) beckons.

  2. Aye, OK, maybe a slight hint of journalistic licence but I’m sure that was my second lesson at Deadline – after the first that there’s no such thing as media ethics!
    Re the factual inaccuracy – my apologies. I certainly did not learn that at Deadline.
    I look forward to facing Young Raff at some point. The Amateurs do play teams from the younger age groups in friendlies from time to time – and we usually end up getting a few sore ankles to boot!

Leave a Reply

